my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  MassageResource.com   » Miscellaneous Discussions   » General Discussion Area   » Draping question

Author Topic: Draping question
greatkate
Member # 1317

posted 05-30-2004 10:50 AM     Profile for greatkate     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I am new to this profession(just got started after graduation in april) so I am always full of questions, but only can ask this 21 year old girl at my work who I don't think is as smart as she likes to believe she is. She always tries to make me feel dumb, but I am currently looking to get out of that place anyway. But here's the question..I was going to massage this guy at my chiropractors office and told him to undress to his level of comfort and get under the top sheet face up. Well I come in and he's under this little towel, not the sheet. I didn't know what to do. How was I going to flip him without seeing more than I wanted to? It was pretty awkward, but I just got an extra sheet from under the table, covered and flipped. Well, then I had to massage him again just recently and I was sure to really tell him to get UNDER the sheet. Sure enough, I come in and hes under that little towel again. This time I didnt have any extra sheets. I didn't know if I should leave the room or what? I decided to flip him anyway but that didn't really work gracefully and it made me very uncomfortable. I asked the girl I work with what she does when she massages him and she said she just holds the towel up and lets him flip. She said at her school they were tested on "Towel draping", which I have never heard of, then she said all smart that just because my school taught me something doesn't mean its the right way or the only way. Maybe this is true, but should you really be massaging people like that in a professional environment. I was just taught o respect the integrety of a massage and my instructors were always teac