my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  MassageResource.com   » Massage Techniques Discussions   » Other   » massage post hip replacement

Author Topic: massage post hip replacement
carolyn bc
Member # 1927

posted 03-23-2006 02:02 AM     Profile for carolyn bc     Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I am a massage therapy student looking for some advice/info on treating recipients of total hip replacement. Specific techniques and special considerations would be appreciated.
Posts: 1 | From: Victoria | Registered: Mar 2006  |  IP: Logged
eclaire
Member # 1975

posted 06-01-2006 10:55 PM     Profile for eclaire     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hi, I am a certified athletic trainer and have worked a little with hip replacement pts. My first suggestion would be to communicate with their Physical Therapist. Second, massage wise, I would work a lot on quads and hamstrings because during sugery many muscles are cut and manipulated. Possible gentle strokes over hip and glutes with constant PT. FEEDBACK! ROM (range of motion) is excellent, but be careful. Maybe search google for hip replacement surgery and you might see exactly which muscles are effected. Hope this helps.
Posts: 6 | From: North Carolina | Registered: Jun 2006  |  IP: Logged
flsoutullo
Member # 2029

posted 08-06-2006 01:10 AM     Profile for flsoutullo   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by carolyn bc:
I am a massage therapy student looking for some advice/info on treating recipients of total hip replacement. Specific techniques and special considerations would be appreciated.